The Herbaceous Garden and Grey Garden

Egeskov's herbaceous border was originally laid out in 1967, in close co-operation between Countess Nonni Ahlefeldt and landscape architects Erna Sonne-Friis and Ingwer Ingwersen.

In 1980 the herbaceous border was removed but in 1996 it was recreated as seen today. The Herbaceous Garden contains around 250 different strains which, thanks to their successive flowering seasons, provide a wonderful profusion of colour from spring through to autumn.

The Grey Garden is a sunken area of the Herbaceous Garden in which all the plants have grey foliage. The font that stands in the middle of the Grey Garden dates from the 12th century.